I got a birthday card the other day from my son and daughter-in-law. It said this…

The world is full of people who will go their whole lives and not actually live one day. She did not intend on being one of them. 

There is something that happens in the mind when you’re starting to get a bit older and come to a birthday and it’s not always something good. The world send out these messages (subtle as a brick really) that say when you get older your usefulness to society lessens. What a load of absolute drivel!  I, for one, intend that my life get richer, fuller , more full of wisdom, love and  power the older I get.

This ‘older’ stage of life (although I’m probably still middle aged at 54) is one where you are often freer to pursue the things of your heart, the plans and purposes of God and to go places you couldn’t have done quite so easily before. It’s a time to dream bigger than you’ve ever dreamed before. It’s a time to push the boundaries and step out into your dreams in a new way. That is not just the domain of the young; and forget the stuff about handing over the baton to the next generation – the minute you hand over your baton you are out of the race. 

I love this quote –“How do you know if your purpose in life is over – if you’re still breathing it isn’t”. Your race is not yet over there is much left in you and for you to do. There are many recorded instances of people changing the world and making huge discoveries etc in their older years.

like-clay1I have been learning new things this last month and pushing the boundaries in my art by learning to use Photoshop on the computer. Here is what I did yesterday, I pray it will minister to you. It reads “Like clay in the hands of the potter, I yield to you, mould me, make me, form me anew.”

It is my prayer as I have celebrated this last birthday, “God continue to fashion me, mould me and make me into a vessel of honour that carries you to a needy world.” What has yet to be formed in you? What does God yet want to make out of your life? Whatever it looks like it, will be a ‘vessel of honour’ to carry the dunamis power and love of Almighty God. Let the Master Potter mould you, make you, form you anew and then release you to minister his love and power to those you come across each day. Push the boundaries (self or other imposed) and they will give way to you – there is far more territory for you to take ,and if you can see it you can have it. Bless you heaps

